Please it is in advised the the information consisted of in this article is no longer accurate following rule alters that were presented April 1, 2020.

You are watching: Call of the haunted vs mst

Hello, it is I, Redshift. It has been a while since I actually created an in-depth write-up that wasn’t simply a weekly/set judgment post. I considered writing one about the card lose 1 Turn, just since it appears there are more people in the civilization that own Ultra Rare gigantic Hands 보다 understand how that card’s impacts work (based on personal experience). Joke aside, I believe my previous article on effect negation confirmed to it is in quite useful to countless people, and I have the right to only hope this post does the same.

By now, anyone paying attention to the people of rulings in Yu-Gi-Oh! in the past few years will have heard around the idea that cause Effects should be in a specific place in order to activate. This makes sense, due to the fact that obviously if an impact activates ~ above the field, it need to be top top the ar (at the very least to activate), right? Well, there’s more to it 보다 that, and also I’m walking to try and covering the mechanic as ideal I can. Nevertheless of which version of the video game you play, this article may have actually some important information for you.

The majority of the information noted here originates from an assortment of rulings for both the TCG and OCG, consisting of my own an individual correspondences v Konami. The said, if friend live in United claims or Canada, please begin with component V prior to proceeding.

PART I. The simple idea.

*

Let’s use the most regularly cited example. Suppose you have a collection Call the the Haunted, and also a Satellarknight Deneb in her Graveyard. Your enemy activates Mystical an are Typhoon, targeting your speak to of the Haunted. You climate decide to chain that contact of the Haunted, targeting Satellarknight Deneb. Now, we settle the chain. Call of the Haunted unique Summons Satellarknight Deneb, and also then Mystical room Typhoon destroys contact of the Haunted. Contact of the Haunted automatically destroys Satellarknight Deneb in the process. Currently we begin a brand-new chain, wherein we can activate the effect of Satellarknight Deneb (due to she wonderful “if” wording, Deneb’s effect cannot miss out on its opportunity to activate, together opposed come a monster like eco-friendly Gadget). But we check out that Deneb has already been destroyed, and also isn’t on the ar anymore. Can we also activate her effect?

Yes, that is possible. Even though Satellarknight Deneb is no longer on the field, you room able come activate she effect. But what around some various other examples? currently let’s say, instead of Mystical room Typhoon, the rotate player is using the effect of Madolche Queen Tiaramisu, and also after having selected 2 target “Madolche” cards in the Graveyard, girlfriend chain that speak to of the Haunted in an effort to acquire your Deneb’s effect. What wake up now? Your contact will fix of course, yet let’s say the your foe then choose to shuffle your Deneb right into the Deck v the impact of Tiaramisu. Provided our very first example, Deneb have to still be able to activate once this chain resolves. However actually, Deneb’s result cannot activate this time. What changed? instead of damaging Deneb and putting she in her Graveyard, we changed her come the Deck where she is no longer visible. This method she is no “public knowledge” anymore, and also her effect is can not to activate as a result. In the very first example, Deneb was inserted in the Graveyard throughout the chain, keeping her result public.

The mechanic is laid out for us with these examples. If the monster (or card) is public understanding when that is time come activate its prompted effect, said result can it is in activated even if that is no in the place it usually needs to be. What is a public understanding location? for the functions of this article, cards that are face-up on the field, in the Graveyard, banished face-up, or face-up in the Extra Deck are good to go. Cards that finish up in the hand, key Deck, or Extra Deck (face-down), or room face-down on the field or banished face-down, are not.

Keep in mind as well, it does not issue whether an result is causing obligation or not, at the very least for now. (More on that later.)

A few more quick examples:

● Mermail Abysspike is normal Summoned and activates its impact by discarding Atlantean Dragoons. The effect of D.D. Crow is chained, banishing Atlantean Dragoons. ~ the result of Mermail Abysspike resolves, the effect of Atlantean Dragoons can and will activate since it is currently banished face-up.

● Mermail Abyssturge is common Summoned and also activates its effect by discarding Atlantean Marksman, climate targets that same Atlantean Marksman. As soon as resolving the effect, Atlantean Marksman is added back come the hand. ~ the chain resolves, the impact of Atlantean Marksman does not activate due to the fact that it is in the hand, and also not visible to both players.

● Malefic Paradox Dragon is Synchro Summoned when Malefic civilization is not on the field. The constant Effect of Malefic Paradox Dragon destroys the immediately, however the create Effect it has actually can still be activated. (You might even target that exact same Malefic Paradox Dragon in her Graveyard.)

PART II. An altering card type.

*

The idea the public expertise vs. Non-public expertise is straightforward enough. Yet it doesn’t sheathe everything. There room scenarios in i m sorry a card’s kind can be adjusted after its trigger has been met, but before it has actually a opportunity to activate. What does that mean? Well, this might be news to part people, but every map in the game is one of two people a Monster, Spell, or catch Card. That’s basically what I typical when i say card type. For the objectives of this article, Xyz product is also our fourth card type. Different from the ar mechanic, transforming card type is important since it will prevent you indigenous activating your results just together if the card readjusted to a non-public location.

Example 1. Mean we explain an strike with D/D/D tide Oblivion King Caesar Ragnarok, and also activate its result targeting another “D/D” or “Dark Contract” card, while the adversary has Shaddoll Dragon and also Performage damages Juggler ~ above the field. The enemy chains El Shaddoll Fusion, fusion Summoning El Shaddoll Construct once it resolves. Now we return the target the Caesar Ragnarok’s effect to the hand, and also choose El Shaddoll Construct together our monster come equip come it. El Shaddoll Construct would certainly normally have the ability to activate in a new chain, and we see that it is tho public expertise (it is a face-up Equip order Card.) However, that is card type has adjusted from a Monster card to a assignment Card, and also it have the right to no much longer activate the monster effect as a result. Neat.

Going further. Evoltile Najasho is Tributed come activate Ultra development Pill. Girlfriend activate your very own Evo-Singularity in a chain, targeting that Evoltile Najasho and also another monster. Once Evo-Singularity resolves, Evolzar Laggia is special Summoned and Evoltile Najasho is attached come it together an Xyz Material. After Ultra advancement Pill resolves, the impact of Evoltile Najasho can not activate in a brand-new chain due to the fact that it is currently an Xyz Material, not a Monster Card.

One last example. The effect of Superheavy Samurai thef is activated, destroying a Deskbot 006 in her opponent’s Pendulum Zone. Afterward, you decide to apply the part of Thief’s impact that permits you to place the ruined card in your very own Pendulum Zone. The impact of Deskbot 006 is a monster result that activates in the Extra Deck, but right now it is earlier to being a Spell map in the Pendulum Zone. Deserve to your enemy activate its impact now? No, castle cannot.

PART III. Monster affecting themselves.

*

Suppose you have a collection Call of the Haunted, and an Infernoid Decatron in your Graveyard. Your adversary activates Mystical an are Typhoon, targeting your speak to of the Haunted. You then decide to chain that contact of the Haunted, targeting Infernoid Decatron. Now, we deal with the chain. Speak to of the Haunted special Summons Infernoid Decatron, and then Mystical an are Typhoon destroys call of the Haunted. Call of the Haunted instantly destroys Infernoid Decatron in the process. This script is virtually identical to our initial Deneb example, just this time we are Special Summoning Decatron instead. Looking at your wording, there seems to be no factor why the result would be any different. If Deneb is able come activate in a new chain, for sure the effect of Infernoid Decatron have the right to as well, because it also is still public knowledge and also incapable of absent its chance to activate if unique Summoned in a higher Chain Link. However you can’t! This is since Decatron’s result includes an altering its very own name and also effects top top the field into miscellaneous else. Because Decatron is no much longer on the field, friend would currently be trying to activate an impact that cannot appropriately resolve. Think of it prefer trying come activate Dark Hole as soon as there space no monster on the field.

But wait, Decatron’s text says that you an initial send one “Infernoid” monster come the Graveyard, and also if girlfriend do, that is name and also effects change. Why can’t you just send an “Infernoid” monster to the Graveyard? Well, this would absolutely occur if a card prefer Raigeki Break to be chained come Decatron’s successful impact activation, however in our script above, Decatron is off the field prior to its impact even activates, and we can currently determine the you will not it is in able to fully resolve the effect. This is similar to trying come activate the searching impact of routine Beast Ulti-Cannahawk while Mistake is top top the field compared to having actually Mistake chained to the result of routine Beast Ulti-Cannahawk. (In the first scenario, you simply cannot activate the effect, and also in the second, girlfriend have already done so and you solve as lot as girlfriend can.)

Incidentally, that does actually issue if the result is causing obligation or not. Decatron has actually an optional effect, so you are not permitted to activate it in this scenario. If we’re dealing with mandatory effects, their impacts still activate, but only as long as we abide by the previous rule (public knowledge and preserved map type).

Just a quick example of this. You attack with Junk Synchron and your adversary responds with Mirror Force. You then chain urgent Tuning, and Synchro Summon Junk Warrior in assault Position, however when Mirror force resolves, Junk Warrior is destroyed. Now in a new chain, the result of Junk Warrior activates, regardless of only affect its own ATK on the field, due to the fact that it is mandatory.

PART IV. Assorted rulings and also exceptions.

*

The over sections covering the basics, yet there room some oddball exceptions or details come be mindful of. I debated that effects do not constantly need come be where they satisfy their activation needs in order to activate, yet in basic they still need to be there when their trigger is met.

The best example I can think that is human being of Prophecy. His an initial effect permits you to include 2 target “Spellbook” spell Cards in your Graveyard to your hand. ~ that impact resolves, you deserve to activate a separate trigger Effect i beg your pardon destroys all other cards on the field. Suppose you special Summon human being of Prophecy and also activate his very first effect, but then your adversary chains Raigeki Break and also destroys him. Naturally, that very first effect will resolve normally. But what around his 2nd effect? If human being is in the Graveyard now, he’s windy knowledge. Yet that doesn’t typical you have the right to activate his effect, due to the fact that he was no face-up top top the ar to “see” the you added the Spellbooks to your hand.

And the course, as elegant together these rules might be, there space exceptions. If you were to attack a face-down Night Assailant with Ehren, Lightsworn Monk or Drillroid, the result of the attacking monster would certainly spin it ago to the Deck or damage it before damage calculation. Normally, the cause Effects of upper and lower reversal monsters activate after damages calculation. If us follow the rule of public knowledge, Drillroid have to not avoid the effect of Night Assailant indigenous activating, however Ehren should. Plot twist: no of lock do. This is just the method the damages Step is set up. We can only make assumptions regarding why.

Another point to be mindful of is the in any examples covered previously in this article, even if the map is not wherein it met its activation requirements yet subsequently activates, the result is quiet treated as being caused where the is “supposed to”. In the Deneb example, Deneb’s effect is activating top top the field, therefore you can not chain Debunk come it. In the Ehren instance above, the effect of Night Assailant is activating on the field and may still be negated by Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror.

PART V. The great debate.

*

Many that you can have read this and also thought, “Wait, no one of this is true.” You space thinking of exactly how this mechanic is encountered in many big events that occur in United states or Canada. (Well ns did phone call you come skip to this section first.) Unfortunately, as result of limitations in just how rulings space handled there, those the cover this subject are various than the rest of the world’s, and also this isn’t likely to readjust any time soon. However, ours judges do terrific job at keeping rulings consistent from event to event, and in general with their work. So if you do arrangement on participating in any kind of North American event soon, or any environment that adopts your practices, you can ignore the majority of this write-up because the an outcome in nearly every instance I gave will be that you can not activate your effect. However if friend play the OCG or TCG all over else, you acquire to enjoy this mechanic. (Having access to subscription and also manga promos isn’t everything, friend know.)

As a fun fact, there room actually cards in the game that prove the “public knowledge” principle by their message alone. Goblin fan is my favorite example. Goblin Fan has actually an interesting destruction effect the does not begin a chain; it destroys a monster instantly after being upper and lower reversal Summoned, and before any type of effect could activate in solution to the upper and lower reversal Summon (such as a upper and lower reversal monster’s effect). It additionally states, “Its results do not activate in ~ this time.” One may ask why the line would have to be over there if the public knowledge principle is no true; if cards always have to be wherein they create in order come activate, why would certainly that clause be important at all? In conclusion, that i is over there to protect against the activation of an result that would certainly logically otherwise activate.

See more: How To Use Borax To Raise Ph In Pool : Everything You Need To Know

It’s an excellent to be conscious of this cards, so that you can make educated calls if you take place to it is in judging an occasion in the future and someone is using Mystical room Typhoon on a collection Call the the Haunted.